Dermot Gallagher delivers verdict on key referee decision during Leeds v Preston
By Matt Farr
Chris Wood had a goal disallowed for Leeds during their 3-0 win over Preston in the Championship on Saturday.
The 25-year-old looked to have doubled the lead for the home side in the first half, only for the referee to make a late decision to rule out the goal for offside.
Referee Peter Bankes was forced to consult with his linesman for the goal, amid uncertainty as to whether Wood have been in an offside position when the ball was played through to him.
Wood, who already had 27 goals to his name this season, disputed the decision, but former Premier League referee Dermot Gallagher insist the right call was made.
Speaking live on Sky Sports news HQ on Monday afternoon, Gallagher said:
Subscribe to Football Insider TV now
“It was ruled out correctly, because the original ball, Wood was onside. But when it went through, it was actually played by a second Leeds player to Wood when he was in an offside position.
“What they have done there is the assistant has said, ‘look, you must come and talk to me’, and he would have said, ‘I can’t be sure if the Leeds player has touched the ball. You’ve got to tell me.’ And the referee said he has.
“Therefore, he was offside. It was great teamwork.”
The disallowed goal mattered little to Leeds, as goals from Pablo Hernandez and Souleymane Doukara completed the rout for Leeds, following Kemar Roofe’s early opener.
Leeds’ victory saw them maintain their push for promotion, and leaves them fifth in the Championship with five games remaining.
It did however, signal the third consecutive Championship game in which Wood has failed to hit the back of the net, with his last strike coming against Brighton last month.