By Keith Hackett

6th Sep, 2021 | 7:00pm

Ex-Premier League ref can't believe what Newcastle star Krafth got away with for Sweden

Newcastle United star Emil Krafth was very lucky to not give away a penalty for Sweden against Spain last week, according to Keith Hackett.

Speaking exclusively to Football Insider, the ex-FIFA and Premier League referee questioned why VAR did not intervene in the World Cup qualifier.

Krafth and his Sweden teammate Viktor Claesson came together to block Ferran Torres from advancing further in the box.

Premier League official Anthony Taylor was overseeing the match but waved away Spain’s call for a penalty.

VAR did not overturn the on-field judgement as it was not seen as a clear and obvious error and Sweden went on to win the match 2-1.

“First of all, Anthony Taylor is in an excellent position but he’s only got one view,” Hackett told Football Insider correspondent Connor Whitley.

Subscribe to Football Insider TV now

“We are seeing another view which indicates very clearly that is a penalty kick decision.

“A penalty kick should have been awarded. Given the fact Anthony Taylor has not awarded a penalty kick, for me it is a clear and obvious error. That’s not down to his competence, it’s down to what we can see.

“What we can see, the VAR can see. I think 100 per cent, they’ve got this wrong and VAR should have intervened.

“This is, potentially, the confusion that might exist between this lighter touch that we operate in England and have seen in Europe.

“If we’ve got VAR, VAR is there to try and avoid this type of error.

“Anthony Taylor couldn’t be any closer to play, he’s ideally positioned. Being in close to proximity sells the decision but getting the viewing angle is more important and he’s not got the viewing angle but VAR has.”

In other news, PiF may have been consulted as Newcastle United sign off on a new deal.