Hackett: Ronaldo denied two clear penalties as new Man United footage emerges
Man United should have been awarded two penalty kicks against West Ham on Sunday, according to Keith Hackett.
Speaking exclusively to Football Insider, the ex-FIFA and Premier League referee insisted Cristiano Ronaldo was fouled twice in the box at the London Stadium.
The first incident came when Ronaldo took the ball past Vladimir Coufal who dangled a leg out that Ronaldo duly fell over.
The second incident came in the dying stages when Kurt Zouma launched a lunging challenge on the Man United forward who again saw his appeal for a spot-kick waved away.
West Ham went up the other end and won a penalty of their own after the ball struck Luke Shaw’s arm.
Mark Noble missed the penalty and Man United were able to see out the game as 2-1 winners.
Subscribe to Football Insider TV now
“I think that [Coufal’s challenge on Ronaldo] is a penalty kick,” Hackett told Football Insider correspondent Connor Whitley.
“What referees have got to do is look at the feet of the attacking player in this situation. He’s in quite a good position, the referee.
“Has the reputation of Ronaldo impaired Atkinson’s judgement?
“That’s a penalty kick, I thought it at the time.
“The other one [Zouma on Ronaldo] was even clearer. That was also a penalty kick.
“I can’t understand. It’s difficult for defenders because he’s a player that’s got strength and is obviously world-class.
“On both occasions, that’s a penalty kick.”
Ronaldo has now scored four times in his first three outings for the Reds this term.
The 36-year-old has now scored 122 times in 295 games across all competitions for the northwest giants.