By support

2nd May, 2017 | 11:41am

Sutton delivers verdict on Tottenham penalty incident in win v Arsenal

By Matt Bullin

Former Blackburn and Celtic striker Chris Sutton has claimed that Harry Kane did not dive in Tottenham’s win against Arsenal on Sunday.

Spurs won 2-0 on Sunday to secure victory in the final north London derby to be played at White Hart Lane.

Dele Alli and Kane both netted second half goals as their side secured a ninth successive Premier League win.

The 23-year-old’s goal came from the spot and there was some controversy surrounding the awarding of the penalty, which he himself won, going down in the area after contact with Gabriel.

But writing in his Daily Mail column, Sutton has defended Kane’s reaction to the contact, while criticising Leroy Sane and Marcus Rashford for diving to win their respective sides penalties.

Subscribe to Football Insider TV now

He said of the icident: “There was contact on Kane from Arsenal defender Gabriel and he has every right to go down. Had he not, the referee might not have given a penalty and it definitely was one

“The older I got, the more I learned that if there was enough contact you went down, like Harry Kane did, but that isn’t diving.”

Arsenal legend Ian Wright echoed the sentiments of Sutton in his own column in the Sun.

Kane has now bagged himself 21 goals in 26 Premier League games this term, as well as providing six assists.

Tottenham’s win means they are now just one win (or draw) away from going the entire Premier League season unbeaten at White Hart Lane.

It also meant they closed the gap on league leaders Chelsea to four points, with just four games remaining.

In other Tottenham news, Kane has shared what he really thinks of his team-mates and Mauricio Pochettino.

We’ve launched a << BREAKING NEWS FEED>> exclusively for your club. ‘Like Us’ on Facebook by clicking here if you want 24/7 updates on all Tottenham breaking news.