By Wayne Veysey

21st Apr, 2016 | 8:50pm

Tottenham set new record ahead of West Brom showdown, players share delight

By London correspondent Tony Hughes

Tottenham have set a new club record by having four players named in the PFA Premier League team of the season.

For the first time in the 43-year history of the PFA awards, there are four Spurs in the X1 man side.

Harry Kane leads the Tottenham contingent, which also includes Dele Alli, Toby Alderweireld and Danny Rose.

There are also four Leicester players in the 2015/16 side, which has been voted for by the players through their union body, the Professional Footballers Association.

Jamie Vardy, Riyad Mahrez, N’Golo Kante and Wes Morgan make up the quartet from Claudio Ranieri’s Premier League leaders.

Subscribe to Football Insider TV now

The other three players in the team made up from the 20 Premier League clubs are Manchester United goalkeeper David de Gea, Arsenal right-back Hector Bellerin and West Ham playmaker Dimitri Payet.

Kane was among those to express his delight at the selection from his fellow pros.

The team demonstrates the extent to which Spurs and Leicester have been the two outstanding sides in this season’s Premier League.

With four matches of the campaign remaining, Leicester top the league with 73 points, five points ahead of Tottenham in second.

There is no place in the team of the season for Arsenal’s Mesut Ozil, who is on the six-man shortlist for the PFA Player of the Year.

The German’s five fellow nominees Kane, Payet and Leicester trio Mahrez, Vardy and Kante are all in the side.

Kane, who won the young player of the year award last season, has said is unsure if he will attend Sunday’s ceremony because of Tottenham’s game on Monday against West Brom.

In other Tottenham news, there has been a twist in the club’s pursuit of new striker.