By Kevin Campbell

17th May, 2022 | 6:00pm

Harry Kane 'lucky' to benefit as controversial Tottenham picture analysed by pundit

Tottenham were “lucky” to get a penalty after Davinson Sanchez kicked the ball onto Burnley striker Ashley Barnes’ arm, according to Kevin Campbell.

The former Gunners and Everton striker, speaking exclusively to Football Insider, suggested the decision could have gone either way given the proximity of Barnes to Sanchez.

As pictured by BT Sport (15 May), Spurs were awarded a spot-kick when Davinson Sanchez’s pass struck Ashley Barnes on the arm.

Referee Kevin Friend did not point to the spot but reversed his decision on the advice of VAR official Stuart Attwell.

Harry Kane scored from the resulting penalty which has ultimately put Antonio Conte’s side in pole position to finish in the top four.

When asked by Football Insider for his thoughts on the incident, Campbell said: “The arm is out and it hits his arm.

Subscribe to Football Insider TV now

“It is not as if we haven’t seen those given because we have seen those given but I do think it was soft.

“He was so close to Sanchez. They were wrestling and his arm was outstretched. It was that close he did not have an opportunity to move his arm out of the way.

“At the end of the day, I have seen those given many time. I have seen them come in from corners and hit people on the arm. Penalties have been given for similar incidents.

“The penalty was given and as soon as Harry Kane steps up you know where it is going. Listen, sometimes you get a slice of luck. Spurs rode their luck and won the game.”

In other news, a Tottenham idol is worried by journalist’s Lucas Moura transfer update.