West Ham star Fabianzki 'a lucky boy' as controversy analysed by expert

By Paul Robinson

9th May, 2022 | 5:30pm

Lukasz Fabianski 'a lucky boy' as West Ham controversy analysed by expert - 'it's hard to defend'

Paul Robinson has claimed West Ham goalkeeper Lukasz Fabianski was “lucky” to see Sam Byram’s goal chalked off for offside on Sunday.

Speaking exclusively to Football Insider, the ex-Tottenham and England number one claimed the Hammers goalkeeper “got away with one” at Carrow Road.

Fabianski allowed a corner to go straight through his hands and into the path of Sam Byram, who put the ball into the back of the net moments later.

However, referee Robert Jones was advised by VAR official Graham Scott to consult the pitch-side monitor for a potential handball from Byram.

Jones reversed his decision but the incident would ultimately have little bearing on the final result with David Moyes’ side eventual 4-0 winners against the Canaries.

When asked by Football Insider for his thoughts on Fabianski’s mistake and performance, Robinson said: “Fabianski was a lucky boy.

Subscribe to Football Insider TV now

“He got away with one there. As part of the goalkeeper’s union, I like to stick up for goalkeeper’s whenever I can but it is hard to defend that. He got away with it.

“By the letter of the law, it was handball. We know now that if it touches an arm in the lead-up to a goal it will be disallowed.”

West Ham’s hopes of qualifying for next season’s Europa League were boosted by the win over Norwich City.

David Moyes’ side are three points behind sixth-placed Man United with a game in hand.

In other news, Campbell has addressed the ‘million dollar question’ for West Ham after Soucek transfer report.