
Agbonlahor demands chiefs intervene after ‘really surprising’ Kieran Trippier call at Newcastle United
The IFAB need to clarify the handball law after Newcastle United were awarded a controversial penalty in their 1-1 draw with Bournemouth last week (17 September), according to Gabby Agbonlahor.
Speaking exclusively to Football Insider, the former Aston Villa and England forward claimed every time the ball touches someone’s arm in the penalty area a spot kick will be given.
As shown on the BBC’s Match of the Day programme, the ball hit Jefferson Lerma’s arm from a close-range Kieran Trippier cross.
Craig Pawson had initially waved away Newcastle’s appeals for a penalty before VAR intervened and the foul was awarded.
As quoted by the Bournemouth Echo after the game, Gary O’Neill admitted he was “really surprised” the decision went against his side.
“With the way the rules are at the minute, I think it is [a penalty],” Agbonlahor told Football Insider correspondent Connor Whitley.
“If the ball hits your arm in the penalty area then it’s going to be a penalty now. They just need to make that clear.
“It could come off the roof of the stadium and hit your arm and it would be a penalty.
“I just think everything now is going to be given. Players are going to be unlucky. Martinez, for Man United against Real Sociedad, was a shocking one as well.
“That’s just the rule they’ve set now and we just have to get on with it.”

The draw with Bournemouth means Newcastle have not won any of their last six Premier League games.
Despite their recent struggles, Eddie Howe’s side are still 10th in the Premier League table.
In other news, Kieran Maguire has claimed “mysterious” Uefa talks “tick all the right boxes” for Newcastle United.