
Hackett Exclusive: Swansea goal wrongly allowed to damage Blackburn in loss
Swansea City should have seen their second goal disallowed in their win over Blackburn Rovers, Keith Hackett has said.
The former PGMOL chief and ex-FIFA official exclusively told Football Insider that Dion Sanderson was indeed fouled by Zan Vipotnik in the lead up to Myles Peart-Harris’ finish.
Following the departure of John Eustace to Derby, it was David Lowe who once again took charge of Blackburn for their trip to south Wales on Saturday (22 February).
Swansea also went into that game without a manager having earlier in the week sacked Luke Williams less than a month after he had been linked with the West Brom role.
In the end though, it was the hosts – under the caretaker charge of Alan Sheehan – who claimed all three points to dent their opponent’s play-off hopes.
However they may have been somewhat fortuitous to see the all-important second goal they scored allowed to stand.

Dion Sanderson fouled as Swansea doubled their lead
Swansea had taken the lead 39 minutes into that game, after Zan Vipotnik’s week close range effort from a free-kick somehow squeezed through the legs of Blackburn goalkeeper Aynsley Pears.
They then doubled their advantage in first-half stoppage time, when Peart-Harris broke through before slotting the ball into the bottom corner.
Liam Cullen would then make it 3-0 after half time, ending David Lowe’s unbeaten run as interim Blackburn manager.
Blackburn matches with David Lowe as interim manager | Result |
West Brom (A) | Won 2-0 |
Plymouth Argyle (H) | Won 2-0 |
Swansea City (A) | Lost 3-0 |
In the build-up to the goal scored by Peart-Harris though, Rovers defender Dion Sanderson was hauled back on the halfway line by Vipotnik, giving his Swansea man a clearer run at the ball and goal.
While referee Gavin Ward did not blow for a free-kick, Hackett believes he should have done so to deny Swansea their second on the stroke of half-time.
Keith Hackett assesses Blackburn Rovers complaints over Myles Peart-Harris goal
Speaking to Football Insider about those claims for a free-kick from Blackburn in the lead-up to that goal they conceded, the former referee said:
“He’s holding him back, that’s a foul in fairness. The referee has missed one, there’s a foul in the build-up to play I think.
“He’s not seen it as a foul, he’s allowed play to continue and they’ve scored, I think they’re unfortunate.”
Blackburn are now sixth in the Championship table, one point ahead of seventh place Coventry in the race for a play-off place.
Swansea meanwhile are 16th following that win, and look set for another spell in the second-ter next season.