‘Unfair’ – Sarr’s equaliser ‘should have been disallowed’ v Liverpool says ex-FIFA ref

Ismaila Sarr’s celebrations should have been cut short by referee Chris Kavanagh during Crystal Palace’s victory over Liverpool, according to Keith Hackett.

The former PGMOL chief and ex-FIFA official exclusively told Football Insider that Cody Gakpo was fouled by Will Hughes in the build-up to the Eagles’ second equaliser on Sunday, 10 August.

Oliver Glasner’s side lifted yet another piece of silverware at Wembley Stadium, having previously beaten Man City in the final of the FA Cup, before facing the Reds in the Community Shield.

Goals from Hugo Ekitike, Jean-Philippe Mateta, Jeremie Frimpong, and Sarr set the game up for a dramatic finish on penalties, and the 90 minutes of normal time were full of major talking points.

Chris Kavanagh misses major decision in Liverpool’s favour

This article contains exclusive comments from ex-PGMOL chief, FIFA official and former professional referee Keith Hackett.

Hackett already condemned the small portion of Palace supporters who refused to stay quiet during Diogo Jota’s minute’s silence, suggesting that a round of applause would be a better idea.

Kavanagh allowed the game to flow, with Alexis Mac Allister escaping giving away a late penalty for handball, but the experienced referee appeared to have missed quite a major decision at Wembley.

Gakpo appeared to be dragged to the floor by Hughes before the ball was slid through to Sarr, who finished brilliantly past Alisson, and the FA Cup winners might have been lucky to see the goal stand.

Cody Gakpo was fouled in the lead-up to Crystal Palace equaliser

Speaking exclusively to Football Insider, the former referee said: “In a game like this, we talk about safety refereeing. It was easier to give a free-kick in that situation. He didn’t signal advantage; he just ignored it. For me, that’s a foul.

“It’s a careless challenge, and it’s a free-kick. I know that might sound harsh, but in a game at Wembley of this importance, you’d expect intervention. There was a push.

Cody Gakpo Liverpool
Credit: Imago

“The dilemma that referees have is upper-body fouls. There’s an inconsistency with what they see as a foul or not a foul. We see it as a foul because there’s a push. They ignore it. The law says quite simply, a push is a push.

“The player has won the ball unfairly, so he should have been given a free-kick. The goal should have been disallowed.”