Ex-Fifa official issues 'swinging arm' claim as controversial Kieran Trippier footage emerges from Newcastle United
Jefferson Lerma can have no complaints with the penalty he gave away as Bournemouth drew 1-1 with Newcastle United on Saturday (17 September), according to Keith Hackett.
Speaking exclusively to Football Insider, the ex-Fifa and Premier League referee insisted Lerma’s arm was not in a natural position and it did not come off his knee before hitting his arm.
As shown on the BBC’s Match of the Day programme, the ball hit the 27-year-old’s arm from a Kieran Trippier cross.
Referee Craig Pawson initially awarded Newcastle a corner before a VAR review decided it should be a penalty.
Alexander Isak converted from the spot to earn his side a crucial point.
“When I’ve seen it, I’ve said it’s a handball,” Hackett said after analysing the footage with Football Insider correspondent Connor Whitley.
Click below for exclusive transfer news
“I think this is the correct call. The player has clearly struck his hand out, you can see that hand, and he knows exactly what he’s doing.
“His arm is not in a natural position. I don’t take the view that it’s because it has come off the knee.
“He’s got his arm down by his side behind his knee and then all of a sudden, he pokes it in front of his knee.
“In fairness, I think Craig Pawson has got this spot on. I’ve been critical of Craig Pawson but I think he’s got the season off to a really good start.
“He’s come up to the mark this season. I think he looks fitter.
“Ok, the VAR came in on this one because it had to as Pawson didn’t have much chance. I think he sold the decision well.”