Crystal Palace told ex-PL Ref's 'spot-on' claim to Zaha footage

By Keith Hackett

11th Apr, 2022 | 6:00pm

Ex-Premier League referee issues Wilfried Zaha claim as controversial Crystal Palace footage analysed

Keith Hackett has praised the decision to retake Wilfried Zaha’s penalty as Crystal Palace lost 2-1 to Leicester City yesterday (10 April).

Speaking exclusively to Football Insider, the ex-Fifa and Premier League referee insisted the VAR operator was “spot-on” to insist on a retake.

As shown on the BBC’s Match of the Day 2 programme, Crystal Palace were awarded a spot-kick when Youri Tielemans brought down Jordan Ayew in the area.

Zaha, 29, saw his initial effort saved by Kasper Schmeichel but he got a second chance when VAR spotted Caglar Soyuncu enter the box before the kick was taken.

Schmeichel then saved the second penalty but it ended up at the perfect height for Zaha to head it past him.

“It was absolutely spot-on to have it retaken,” Hackett said after analysing the footage with Football Insider correspondent Connor Whitley.

Subscribe to Football Insider TV now

“After the second try, I wonder if it would be retaken again because the referee was off his line a bit sharp.

“What we had here was an encroachment was by the Leicester players. If the encroachment is by the defending players and the player scores then it’s a goal but if they do not score it is retaken.

“Let’s say if there was encroachment by an attacker and defender at the same time, the penalty is retaken even if it is a goal or not a goal.”

The defeat ended Palace’s seven-game unbeaten run across all competitions and leaves them 10th in the Premier League.

They are next in action against the last team to beat them before Leicester – Chelsea – in the FA Cup semi-final on Sunday (17 April).

In other news, a Crystal Palace senior star is in advanced talks to sign a new contract.