Hackett: Collum made big mistake with Hibs v Celtic controversy
Celtic deserved a penalty for Kyle Magennis’ tug on Mohamed Elyounoussi’s arm in the opening stages of their 0-0 draw with Hibs, according to Keith Hackett.
Speaking exclusively to Football Insider, the ex-FIFA and Premier League referee claimed John Kennedy will have told the forward to go down next time he feels contact in the penalty area.
Elyounoussi was played in behind by Greg Taylor before riding Magennis’ challenge and getting a shot away that was cleared on the line.
The Norway international appealed to the referee after the event but instead, Willie Collum gave a corner.
“The referee’s in a good position,” Hackett told Football Insider correspondent Connor Whitley.
“He might slightly have his view blocked by the player.
Subscribe to Football Insider TV now
“The argument here is that if a player has tugged him in that way, should he go to ground? If he had gone to the ground in that situation then he’s applying the pressure on the referee to give him a penalty kick. He’s stayed on his feet and there’s no pressure on the referee.
“If he went down, given that pull has actually spun him… In law terms, the law is clear, this is a foul. Therefore a foul in the penalty area is a penalty kick. But the player has stayed on his feet.
“The left arm of the Hibs number seven is using it as a defence mechanism against his opponent by putting him off balance and he did do. He achieved what he set out to do and that is a slight pull that’s put him off balance but he’s stayed on his feet and not got a penalty kick.
“If I’m his manager I’m going to say to him ‘With a tug like that, you had every right to go to ground.’”