By support

22nd Jul, 2016 | 11:21am

Kane and Alli among nine Tottenham stars left out of pre-season tour

By Alex Taylor

Tottenham are leaving nine major stars at home as they embark on their pre-season tour to Australia, the club have announced.

The official Spurs website revealed Toby Alderweireld, Jan Vertonghen (injured), Harry Kane, Eric Dier, Ben Davies, Kyle Walker, Danny Rose, Dele Alli and Moussa Dembele have all been left out of the squad following their respective European Championship campaigns.

Spurs are scheduled to play two matches on the tour, against Italian champions Juventus on 26 July and Champions League runners-up Atletico Madrid on 29 July.

Rookies Marcus Edwards, Luke Amos, Shayon Harrison, Cameron Carter-Vickers, Anton Walkes and Tom Glover join the senior squad on their long-haul trip.

Striker Harrison and midfielder Edwards were two of Spurs’ three scorers as they beat Rotherham 3-1 in a pre-season friendly on Thursday. Vincent Janssen scored the third goal.

Subscribe to Football Insider TV now

Kane will not travel on the tour after England’s disappointing Euro 2016 tournament, in which he failed to score a single goal and faced criticism for several poor free-kick and corner routines.

The youngster had a brilliant last season scoring 25 goals in the Premier League, but will now face competition from Janssen, who will travel with the squad.

The news will disappoint Spurs fans who will be keen to see how their new additions and current stars are gelling ahead of the 2016-17 Premier League season.

Full squad: Luke Amos, Dominic Ball, Tom Carroll, Cameron Carter-Vickers, Nacer Chadli, Marcus Edwards, Christian Eriksen, Tom Glover, Shayon Harrison, Vincent Janssen, Erik Lamela, Ryan Mason, Luke McGee, Will Miller, Josh Onomah, Heung-Min Son, Kieran Trippier, Michel Vorm, Kyle Walker-Peters, Anton Walkes, Victor Wanyama, Kevin Wimmer, Harry Winks, DeAndre Yedlin

In other Tottenham news, it has emerged that a Spurs regular is to be handed a new £70,000-a-week deal.