By Keith Hackett

11th Jun, 2022 | 7:30am

Man City news: Ex-Fifa official issues 'bang' claim as Oleksandr Zinchenko footage analysed

Keith Hackett has insisted the referee was right to rule out a goal from Man City star Oleksandr Zinchenko as Ukraine lost 2-0 to Wales in Sunday’s (5 June) World Cup play-off game.

Speaking exclusively to Football Insider, the ex-Fifa and Premier League referee admitted the controversy “caused a lot of debate” but Antonio Mateu Lahoz got it spot on.

As shown on Sky’s highlights, Zinchenko thought he had opened the scoring after less than three minutes when he fired a quick free-kick in past by Wayne Hennessey.

The referee disallowed the goal and demanded that the 26-year-old retook the free-kick.

“Ukraine took a quick free-kick and bang, it was in the back of the net and he ruled it out,” Hackett said after analysing the footage with Football Insider correspondent Connor Whitley.

“That caused a lot of debate. The basic principles are for referees to understand that players are allowed to take a quick free-kick. That is usually from the period between when the referee blows the whistle up to coming towards the ball.

Subscribe to Football Insider TV now

“Once he’s settled and is now issuing sanctions, at that point it becomes a ceremonial free-kick. A quick free-kick then has to be ruled out while ensuring players are being sanctioned and captains are being spoken too.

“Even though it was upfield and not right next to the penalty area, he’s still got to ensure the law is fulfilled.

“The media talked about the whistle to restart. It doesn’t say that in the laws of the game, it can just be a signal. That can be a hand wave or he can say to the player ‘Get on with it’.

“He was correct in law but it brought up a lot of debate. The referee carried out the procedures as outlined.”

In other news, Kieran Maguire has revealed ‘all eyes are on’ Man City as three new deals are announced.