By Wayne Veysey

18th Jun, 2015 | 9:51pm

Manchester United shortlist Hugo Lloris, Asmir Begovic and Samir Handanovic

By Manchester correspondent Alex Stevens
Manchester United have shortlisted Hugo Lloris, Asmir Begovic and Samir Handanovic as goalkeeper options to replace David De Gea, Football Insider sources understand.

United have identified the trio as proven keepers who are capable of succeeding Real Madrid-bound De Gea as the Old Trafford No1.
The futures of Tottenham’s Lloris, Stoke City’s Begovic and Inter Milan’s Handanovic are unclear amid interest from Louis van Gaal’s team as well as other major European clubs.
United have also made enquiries about Chelsea’s Petr Cech but they accept he is set to move to Arsenal this summer.
Van Gaal wants a top quality No1 who can slot straight into the United first team next season.
As revealed by Football InsiderSpurs are willing to cash in on Lloris and are confident that the extended contract he signed last summer will enable them to maximise his value.
Tottenham do not want to lose Lloris but accept that if he pushes for a move to a club who can offer him Champions League football and a greater prospect of silverware, the Frenchman could leave this summer.
The 28-year-old signed a new contract last July which runs until 2019 and Spurs chairman Daniel Levy believes this gives his club the insurance to demand a fee higher than the £32.6million Juventus paid for Gianluigi Buffon in 2001, which remains the world record fee for a goalkeeper.

Begovic, who has also attracted interest from Chelsea, has just one year remaining on his Stoke contract and has spoken of his desire to play at a higher level.

Meanwhile, Slovenia international Handanovic has failed to agree a contract extension with Inter despite a series of contract offers from the Serie A club in recent.
It is understood that Lloris is United’s first choice to replace De Gea but the club are considering alternatives after experiencing the difficulties of negotiating with Levy despite enticing Dimitar Berbatov, Michael Carrick and Teddy Sheringham from White Hart Lane to Old Trafford during the Spurs chairman’s tenure.