By Kevin Campbell

21st Sep, 2022 | 11:50am

Pundit: Newcastle United profit from major blunder as Kieran Trippier footage emerges - 'I am not happy'

Kevin Campbell has questioned why Newcastle United were awarded a penalty in their 1-1 draw with Bournemouth on Saturday (17 September).

Speaking exclusively to Football Insider, the ex-Arsenal and Everton striker insisted VAR is raising “more questions than answers” and he does not like it.

As shown on the BBC’s Match of the Day programme, Kieran Trippier fired in a cross that hit Jefferson Lerma’s arm from close range.

Referee Craig Pawson waved away Newcastle’s appeals before a VAR intervention awarded them a spot-kick.

Alexander Isak converted the penalty to earn his side a point as their winless run stretched to six Premier League games.

“Look, here we go again,” Campbell told Football Insider assistant editor Dylan Childs.

Click below for exclusive transfer news

I don’t know what a penalty is or isn’t anymore with VAR. I have no idea.

If you go to it and it hits your arm, that should be taken into account. 

Whereas, previously with the Crystal Palace decision, that was a stonewall penalty. If he didn’t give the goal then he’s got to give a penalty.

This one, I think it’s harsh, I really do. Again, by the letter of the law, it’s an interpretation of the referee and VAR.

If it wasn’t given, I would understand it. The fact it was given, I understand it as well.

It actually leaves more questions than answers at times and I don’t like that.”

Sky Sports reported earlier this month (5 September) that the PGMOL had effectively admitted the decision to disallow Newcastle’s goal in their 0-0 draw with Crystal Palace (3 September) was wrong.

The Magpies had the ball in the back of the net via a Tyrick Mitchell own goal but it was disallowed for a foul by Joe Willock on Vicente Guaita.

In other news, a medical insider has revealed Newcastle United have been handed a “massive bonus” after a Jonjo Shelvey training reveal.