By Keith Hackett

10th Jan, 2022 | 8:31pm

Ex-Fifa official: Referee overruled in key Reading decision as controversial footage analysed

Kidderminster Harriers’ famous winning goal in their 2-1 FA Cup victory over Reading was not given by the referee but his assistant.

That is the view of ex-Fifa and Premier League referee Keith Hackett, speaking exclusively to Football Insider about Kidderminster’s controversial late winner on Saturday (8 January).

The National League North outfit whipped in a corner in the 82nd minute before it was bundled over the line by Amari Morgan-Smith.

Almost every player on the pitch was between the referee and the action as the Reading goalkeeper smothered the ball.

He eventually awarded Kidderminster their goal as they set up a fourth round tie with Premier League big-hitters West Ham.

“The scenario here is, we saw the clips here that justified the goal being given,” Hackett said after analysing the footage with Football Insider correspondent Connor Whitley.

Click below for exclusive transfer news

“What we’ve got to understand here is, when VAR is not in operation we go back to old-style officiating which takes place in the Football League week in, week out.

“The assistant referee positions himself behind the flag to look at the goal line. I’m making a real case here, from behind the flag looking down the goal line, has given the goal.

“It’s not the referee that has awarded it. He can’t see from his position, but the assistant can. He’s got a whisper in his ear to say ‘That’s a goal’. Good refereeing.”

Reading can now focus on staying in the Championship as they host high-flying Fulham on Tuesday (11 January).

The Royals are only three points above the relegation zone although they have a game in hand over Derby County and Barnsley.

In other news, Reading have set their sights on signing the ‘Colombian Trent Alexander-Arnold’.