Second best: Nigel Pearson has lost out to Clarke to become the new Fulham boss

By Editor Wayne Veysey| Former Evening Standard, Press Association and Goal chief correspondent with 17 years experience of breaking big stories, including exclusives like this
Follow me on Twitter @footyinsider247
Fulham are hoping to name Nigel Pearson as their new manager following a dramatic day of on-off negotiations on Thursday, Football Insider sources understand.
Steve Clarke agreed to accept the post following talks with the Championship club on Wednesday but had a change of heart on Thursday and has decided to remain at Reading.
Former Leicester boss Pearson, who was interviewed by Fulham earlier in the week and was the original first-choice candidate, is now back in pole position to replace Kit Symons, who was sacked 12 days ago.
Pearson might not be appointed in time to be in the dugout for Saturday’s Championship clash against MK Dons but Fulham are prepared to allow Alan Curbishley to take charge on a temporary basis.
The former Charlton and West Ham manager is keen to succeed Symons but Fulham would rather him continue as a consultant.
Clarke, who has also been assistant manager at Newcastle, Chelsea, West Ham and Liverpool, appeared to have got the Fulham job ahead of Pearson earlier in the week.
The Scot was due to speak at his weekly media briefing on Thursday morning but Reading cancelled it until Friday morning in a clear sign that he was leaving the club. The former West Brom manager subsequently had talks with the board and has decided to remain at the the Madejski Stadium.

U-turn: Steve Clarke has decided to remain at Reading
U-turn: Steve Clarke has decided to remain at Reading

Symons was dismissed following Fulham’s defeat to Birmingham before the international break, which left the Cottagers 12th in the Championship table, eight points off the play-off places.
Khan said he wanted to take the west London club “to a higher level of success” as they seek a return to the Premier League following relegation in 2014.