Liverpool centre-half Virgil Van Dijk has gone on record to say that he thought Tottenham player’s dived to earn penlaties last night.
Spurs were awarded two second half penalties, one of which was converted by Harry Kane, and the game ended 2-2 through controversial circumstances.
The first penalty was awarded after minimal contact was made between the Reds keeper Loris Karius and Harry Kane, whilst the second directly involved the World’s most expensive defender, who hacked at Eric Lamela in the box.
Speaking in a press conference as quoted by the Mirror, the Netherlands international stated he thought Kane threw himself to the ground,
“I don’t think that is a pen and the same with the first one. That is also clearly not a penalty. I think it is a dive,
“You see him [Kane] diving clearly and no one is talking about that. But I think it is a dive.”
Kane saw that first penalty saved by Karius, who had the nerve to stay in the middle of the goal to palm the ball to safety.
However, the second penalty was more controversial, as the linesman Edward Smart over ruled the referee Jon Moss to award the spot kick, and looked like he celebrated the decision.
Kane became the fastest player to score 100 Premier League goals by scoring the second penalty, however Van Dijk does not think it should have been awrded in the first place,
“I think first of all it was offside and secondly he just put his body in front of me,
“It is a decision the ref already made and the ref is closer than the linesman [who overruled], i thought it was a bit harsh.”
In other Liverpool news, this striker is expecting a decision that will impact his entire season this week.